2018 Award winners

On the evening of Monday, December 10th, the finals of the Maastricht Human Rights Prize took place for the fourth time. Article 12 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights was the 2018 theme: ‘No one will be subjected to arbitrary interference in his privacy’. The Award ceremony took place in the City Hall of Maastricht. Six winners were eventually chosen from the 46 entries. The first place in the category under 18 years was assigned to Rowan Zvekich with a powerful artwork. The category from the age of 18 was won by Salma Abdi who conducted an impressive monologue about the privacy of the body.

2018 Award winners category under 18 years
Rowan Zvekich – Artwork
2nd place:
Murren Meers – Artwork
3rd place:
Tan Kitapli – Video

2018 Award winners category over 18 years:
Salma Abdi – Monologue
2nd place:
Sophioa D’Arcio (AIMS) Story
3rd place:
Barbora Lejskova – Artwork

The winners received an amount of money that they can grant to their own chosen charity.

In addition all eleven finalists received in recognition of their work a beautiful remembrance designed by Sanne Vaassen.

  • Placeholder

Photo and video impression 2018 Award ceremony

Photo’s: Photostique

Video: ProXplain