2019 Award winners

On the evening of Monday, December 9th, the finals of the Maastricht Human Rights Prize took place for the fifth time. The theme of the Maastricht Human Rights Prize in 2019 is the “freedom from fear”. This freedom is one of the four fundamental freedoms that form the foundation of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948.

The Award ceremony took place in the City Hall of Maastricht. Six winners were eventually chosen from the 51 entries with 12 finalists.

2019 Award winners category under 18 years
Solomon Amba - Video

2nd place Kezia Basaraba - Artwork
3rd place Jonjo van der Venne - Poem with video and music

2019 Award winners category over 18 years:

Hande Wevers - Poem
2nd place Anne Lucas - Video
3rd place Nadine Custers - Song

The winners received an amount of money that they can grant to their own chosen charity.

In addition all 12 finalists received in recognition of their work a beautiful remembrance designed by Sanne Vaassen.

Photo impression and video 2019 Award ceremony

Photo's: Photostique