The jury

On december 7 2023 the jury will announce the three winners per age category out of the six best entries. There are two age categories: up to 17 years and 18 years and older.

Every age category is awarded a first prize of € 500, a second prize of € 250 and a third prize of € 100. Fourth and fifth prize winner’s will receive an honorable mention. All cash prizes will be donated to a charity of the winner’s choice.

All award winners receive a work of art by Sanne Vaassen as a souvenir.


Onno Hoes
Initiator and Chairman of the jury
Maastricht Human Rights Prize

Jeanette Oostijen
Member Executive Board
VISTA college

Marieke Hopman
Assistant Professor at
Maastricht University

Eric van de Luytgaarden
Endowed Professor Preventative Law
Maastricht University

Désirée Tonnaer
Visual Artist

Denise Verdonschot
Head of Community Engagement
United World College

Huub Mertens
Bernard Lievegoed School VO